Online Platform & Web-Proceedings

October 12(Tue)~15(Fri), 2021
Ramada Plaza Hotel, Jeju

Award information

Award information

Best Paper Award

This award is to recognize the most outstanding papers based on the quality of the contribution. All award winners will be announced at the (Virtual) Banquet.

Application: Authors can apply for this award by the initial submission.

Evaluation: Those candidate papers are forwarded to the Award Committee, and reviewed once again after the regular review process. Please note that all the Best Paper Award candidates will be assigned to the lecture (oral) session for presentation.

Best Paper Award Winner

Model-Based Reinforcement Learning with LSTM Networks for Non-Prehensile Manipulation Planning
Jeffrey Fong, Domenico Campolo, Cihan Acar, Keng Peng Tee 
National University of Singapore, Institute for Infocomm Research, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology


Best Student Paper Award

This award is to recognize the most outstanding paper co-authored by a student based on the quality of the technical contribution and the presentation. All award winners will be announced at the (Virtual) Banquet.

Eligibility: The applicant should be a student and the first author. The author also has to present the paper at the conference. Students are defined as full-time students, enrolled for degrees or diplomas with a university or another similar institution.

Application: The author can apply when the initial submission is made.

Evaluation: Award Committee members will review the candidate papers again after the regular review process. In addition, the Award Committee will examine the presentation during the conference. Please note that all the Best Student Paper Award candidates will be assigned to the lecture (oral) session for presentation.

Best Student Paper Award Winner

Towards an Omni-directional Orientation Manipulation of Spherical Piezoelectric Motor: A Torque Vector Composition Method

Tai-Chi Hwang
National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan

Best Poster Award

Awards will be given for the best poster presentations. Posters will be judged and the candidates will be recommended by the Session Chairs based  on contribution to the field and overall presentation during each poster session. Then the final winners determined by the Award Committee will be announced at the (Virtual) Banquet from ICCAS 2021 Webpage after completing conference.

Best Poster Paper Award Winners

PaperTitle Author
Low-level Force Control of a Hydraulic Actuator via Learning-based Inverse Model Control Sung-Woo Kim, Buyoun Cho, Seunghoon Shin, Jun-Ho Oh, Jemin Hwangbo, Hae-Won Park (KAIST, Korea)
MIR-VIO: Mutual Information Residual-based Visual Inertial Odometry with UWB Fusion for Robust Localization Sungjae Shin, Eungchang Mason Lee, Junho Choi, Hyun Myung (KAIST, Korea)
Roller-based soft gripper for gripping and transferring the flexible wire bundle Jae-Young Lee, Yong-Sin Seo, Dong-Il Park, Jongwoo Park, Byung-Kil Han, Chan-hun Park, Sung-Hyuk Song (KIMM, Korea)
Depth-Sensor-Based Row-Following Method for Autonomous Driving of Agricultural Vehicles Soohwan Song, Wonpil Yu (ETRI, Korea)
A Compact Mechanical Safety Mechanism for Tendon Transmission based on Magnets and Capstan Brake Hyungmin Choi, Kyujin Cho (Seoul National University, Korea)
Extraction of Visible Map Points with Semantic Observation Dabin Kim, H. Jin Kim (Seoul National University, Korea)
Improving Nighttime Object Detection by Generating Synthetic Nighttime Dataset from Daytime Dataset Youngjo Lee, Suhyeon Lee, Hongje Seong, Euntai Kim (Yonsei University., Korea)
Development of a Drone for Indoor Proximity Flight Using a Directional 3D Lidar and a VIO Sensor Jong Tai Jang (KARI Korea)
Reset Control for Disturbance Compensator to Improve Transient Performance in Industrial Servo Systems Young-Seok Kim, Ji-Seok Han, Tae-Ho Oh, Dae-Young Yang, Tae-Hoon Kim, Sang-Hoon Lee, Dong-Il Dan Cho (RS Automation, Seoul National University, Korea)
Design of the Bundle Adjustment FPGA-SoC Architecture for Real Time Vision Based SLAM in AR Glasses Yeseul Son, Kwang-Soon Choi, Dohoon Kim (Korea Electronics Technology Institute, Korea)
Actualization of Deep Ego-motion Classification on Miniaturized Octagonal Compound Eye Camera Hwiyeon Yoo, Jungho Yi, Jong-Mo Seo, Songhwai Oh (Seoul National University, Korea)
Syllable-level Korean Fingerspelling Recognition from a Video Yoonyoung Jeong, Han-Mu Park (Korean Electronics Technology Institute, Korea)
Describing Environmental Information in Videos Using Machine Learning Yoon-Jin Jeong, Soe-Sandi Htun, Ji-Hyeong Han (Seoul National University of Science and Technology, Korea)

International Student Travel Grant Award

ICCAS 2021 is pleased to offer international travel grants to encourage students’ contribution from outside of Korea.

Eligibility Criteria
Applicants for this award shall meet the following requirements, as of June 7, 2021:
– Must have a nationality other than Korean
– Must reside outside of Korea
– Must give a presentation at ICCAS 2021

Application Procedure
Prepare the following information and fill this Online Application form:
– Final paper ID and title
– Ways the applicant would benefit from attendance at the conference
– The strengths and potential contributions of the applicant
– Supervisor’s name and affiliation
Application deadline: August 25, 2021

Travel grants
– 500,000 KRW each (3 students)

International Student Travel Grant Award Winners

  1. Carlos Alberto Vasquez Jalpa (Instituto Politecnico Nacional)
  2. Marzana Khatun (IFM – Institut für Fahrerassistenz und vernetzte Mobilität)
  3. Sean Roelofs (Stanford University)